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December 31, 2023

RE: Notice of Effective Date of the Utah Consumer Privacy Act

Dear Business Owner/Licensee,

On December 31, 2023, the Utah Consumer Privacy Act (“UCPA”), found in Utah Code §§ 13-61-101,
et seq., became effective. The UCPA gives consumers in the State of Utah various rights with regard to
the personal data that they may have provided to businesses. Personal data includes any information that

is linked or reasonably linkable to an identified individual or an identifiable individual.

Under the UCPA, persons who control how personal data is processed (“controllers™) or persons who
actually process personal data on behalf of this business (“processors’) must establish, implement, and
maintain reasonable administrative, technical, and physical data security practices designed to 1) protect
the confidentiality and integrity of a consumer’s personal data, and 2) reduce reasonably foreseeable

risks of harm to consumers relating to the processing of their personal data.

The UCPA specifically applies to controllers and processors who either conduct business in the State of
Utah or produce a product or service targeted to consumers who are residents of the State of Utah. These
controllers and processors must have an annual revenue of $25,000,000 or more and either 1) control or
process personal data of 100,000 or more consumers during a calendar year or 2) derive over 50% of
their gross revenue from the sale of personal data and control or process personal data of 25,000 or more

consumers.

The UCPA requires controllers to provide consumers with a reasonably accessible and clear privacy
notice that describes 1) the categories of personal data processed by the business, 2) the purposes for
which the personal data are processed, 3) how a consumer may exercise their privacy rights; 4) the
categories of personal data that the business shares with third parties, if any; and 5) the categories of
third parties, if any, with whom the business shares personal data. And if a controller sells a consumer’s
personal data or uses a consumer’s personal data for targeted advertising, the controller must inform the

consumer about how a consumer may opt out of the 1) sale of their personal data or 2) the processing of
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their personal data for targeted advertising. In addition, controllers may not process a consumer’s
sensitive data without first providing the consumer with clear notice and an opportunity to opt out of

having their sensitive data processed.

If a consumer contacts a controller to exercise their rights provided by the UCPA, the controller must: 1)
act on a consumer’s request within 45 days; 2) inform consumers of any action taken upon a request; 3)
provide consumers with a reasonably accessible and clear privacy notice; and 4) provide consumers with

clear notice and an opportunity to opt out of having their sensitive data processed.

The purpose of this letter is not intended to provide you with legal advice but to notify you about some
of the requirements of the UCPA. The full text of the UCPA can be found at:
https://le.utah.gov/xcode/Title13/Chapter61/13-61.html.

For additional information, please visit the Utah Division of Consumer Protection website at

https://dep.utah.gov/ucpa or the Utah Attorney General’s website at

https://attorneygeneral.utah.gov/how-can-consumers-protect-their-personal-data/.

Sincerely,

Utah Division of Consumer Protection
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