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Please mark the appropriate box: 
 
   INITIAL  RENEWAL 
   APPLICATION  APPLICATION 

 
 

If you have any questions, please contact the Division at (801) 530-6601. Fax (801) 530-6001 
 

Make check or money order payable to the State of Utah 
 

Please return the completed application form to: 

 
Department of Commerce 

Division of Consumer Protection 
160 East 300 South 

Box 146704 
Salt Lake City, Utah  84114-6704 

 
 

NOTE:  Registration is required by law and is effective for one year.  Renewal of this 
registration is due 30 days prior to its expiration. A $25 late fee will be assessed for every 
month or portion of the month the renewal is past due. 
 

 
State of Utah 
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE 
DIVISION OF CONSUMER PROTECTION

HEALTH SPA SERVICES 

PERSONAL TRAINER 
PERMIT APPLICATION FORM 

 
 

Application fee: $100.00 (Non-refundable) 
 
 

______________________________________________
Applicant’s Legal Name 

 
 

______________________________________________
Name Doing Business As 

 
 

______________________________________________
Date of Application 

 
 
 

 
OFFICE USE ONLY 

 
Date Issued: ______________________ 
 
Permit Number: __________________ 
 
Approved: _______________________ 
 
Exempt: _________________________ 
 
Denied: __________________________ 
 
Expiration: _______________________ 
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1.  Applicant’s Mailing Address:   
    ____________________________________________________________ 
     Street 

     ___________________________________________________________________ 
     City            State         Zip Code 

     ________________________   ______________________________ 
     Telephone Number   Fax Number 
 
     ___________________________________________________________ 
     Email Address 

 
2. Primary Facility utilized:  ____________________________________________________________ 
(Physical location of the business)     Name    Address 

     ____________________________________________________________ 
     City         State           Zip Code 

      _____________________  _______________________ 
     Telephone Number   Fax Number 
 
     ___________________________________________________________ 
     Website  

 

3. Contact Person at the facility: ___________________________________________________________ 
     Name 

     _____________________  _______________________ 
     Telephone Number   Fax Number 
 

     ___________________________________________________________ 
     Email Address 

 

4. Applicant’s Registered Agent (The individual who will receive legal service of process for the applicant.) 
 
  _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
  Name 
  _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
  Street Address 
  _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
  City        State   Zip Code 
  ________________________________    ________________________________ 
  Telephone Number      Fax Number 
 

5. Does the applicant train at any additional health or fitness facilities?                 Yes     No 

a. If “yes”, please list the name, address and telephone number of each additional facility or attach a 
directory listing all facilities you contract with. 

 
________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Name     Facility Address  Telephone Number 
 
________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Name     Facility Address  Telephone Number 
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6.   Attach a price list, brochure or other publication indicating the cost of services you provide or 
describe the payment structure for your personal training services below: 
 
________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
7.    Attach a copy of the agreement you have with the facility that allows you to utilize the location and 
equipment. If this agreement has not been reduced to writing, describe the nature and terms of the 
agreement that allows independent personal trainers such as your self, to work out of the facility (including 
any compensation paid by personal trainers to the facility, facility membership requirements, etc). 
 
________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
8.  Provide the total number of personal training clients you train: ____________________________ 
 (If initial application list the number projected) 

 
9. Please attach a copy of the facility’s current liability or professional liability insurance policy. 

The facility must show evidence that it maintains current liability or professional liability insurance. This 
should be a 1 or 2 page “declarations” page or “proof of liability” page. Do not submit your entire policy. 

 
10. Please attach a copy of the entire contract, service agreement or waiver used.  To assist the 

registration process, highlight the following terms which are required for all contracts, service 
agreement or waivers: 

 
 a. The date of the transaction, including the beginning date and expiration date; 
 b. The name, address and contact information of the facility and trainer; 
 c. The name, address and telephone number of the consumer; 
 d. The three-day right-of-rescission.  The three-day right-of-rescission must be a conspicuous 

statement  written in dark bold with at least 12 point type on the first page of the contract and read as 
follows:  “YOU, THE CONSUMER, MAY CANCEL THIS CONTRACT AT ANY TIME PRIOR TO 
 MIDNIGHT OF THE THIRD BUSINESS DAY AFTER THE DATE ON WHICH THE CONTRACT IS 
 EXECUTED.” ; 

 e. List the specific equipment or services that are subject to deletion or change at the discretion of the 
 facility; or state, “All equipment is subject to change or deletion at the discretion of the facility.” 

      f. A provision, which reads substantially as follows, if surety complaint:  
  “IN THE EVENT THE HEALTH SPA FACILITY CLOSES AND ANOTHER HEALTH SPA 

 FACILITY OPERATED BY THE SELLER, OR ASSIGNS OF THE SELLER, OF THIS 
 CONTRACT IS NOT AVAILABLE WITHIN FIVE (5) MILES OF THE LOCATION THE 
 MEMBER INTENDS TO PATRONIZE, SELLER WILL REFUND TO MEMBER A PRORATE 
 SHARE OF THE MEMBERSHIP COST, BASED UPON THE UNUSED MEMBERSHIP TIME 
 REMAINING ACCORDING TO THE CONTRACT.”   

 g. The dollar value (this is required to be clearly stated on the face of the contract). 
 
11. Is Surety Exemption Requested?               Yes    No 

If the applicant is requesting to be exempt from the surety requirement pursuant to U.C.A.§ 13-23-6 the 
following must also be represented in the contract, agreement or waiver: 
 

  a. The applicant does not offer paid-in-full contracts for personal training services.  The personal 
training services can only be paid for by installment of each contract on a month to month basis; 
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  b. Each contract must contain the following clause:  “If this personal trainer ceases operation and 
fails to offer an alternate location within five miles, no further payments under this contract shall 
be due to anyone, including any purchaser of any note associated with or contained in this 
contract.” 

  c. All payments due under each contract, including down payments, enrollment fees, membership 
fees, or  any other payments, must be in equal monthly installments spread over the entire 
term of the contract. 

  d. The beginning date and expiration date of each contract must be clearly stated and not be 
capable of being extended. 

 
12. If you responded “No” to question 11, then you are subject to the Surety Requirements: 

If the applicant does not meet the surety exemption requirements listed above then, a form of surety will 
be required in order to accept payment in full, down payments, enrollment fees or make other non-
month to month charges. 

Type of Surety: 
 a. Mark the appropriate box indicating the type of surety being provided in satisfaction of U.C.A. § 13-23-5. 
 
             Bond   Letter of Credit   Certificate of Deposit 
 

b. The required performance bond, irrevocable letter of credit or certificate of deposit from a Utah 
depository payable to the DIVISION OF CONSUMER PROTECTION/STATE OF UTAH.  The 
amount of surety is set forth in the following U.C.A. § 13-23-5 schedule: 

 
Principal Amount 

of  Surety 
Number of Contracts 

$15,000  
$35,000  
$50,000  
$75,000 

500 or fewer 
501 to 1,500 

1,500 to 3,000 
3,001 or more 

 
Proof of the surety requirement is required to be filed 30 days in advance of selling, offering or 
attempting to sell, soliciting the sale of, or becoming a party to any contract to provide health spa 
services. An applicant is considered to be in compliance with this section only if the proof of surety is 
current. 

Surety Provider Information: 
c. If a surety bond is being submitted, please indicate the following: 
 

Amount of bond: _______________________________________ 
 
Date of Bond: ___________________________           Bond Expires: ____________________________ 
 
Name of Surety Company: _______________________________________________________________ 
 
Address of Surety Company: _____________________________________________________________ 
 

       _____________________________________________________________ 
      City       State          Zip Code 

Telephone and Fax Number of Surety Company: _____________________________________________ 
 
Insurance Agent Name and Telephone Number: _____________________________________________ 

 
d. If a letter of credit or certificate of deposit is being submitted, please indicate the following: 

 
Date of Letter of Credit: ____________________ Date Letter of Credit Expires: ___________________  
 
Date of Certificate of Deposit: _______________ Date Certificate of Deposit Expires: ______________ 
 



April 2014 5

Name of Utah Bank: ___________________________________________________________________ 
 
Address of Utah Bank: __________________________________________________________________ 
 
Telephone and Fax Number of Utah Bank: __________________________________________________ 
 
Insurance Agent Name and Telephone Number: ______________________________________________ 

 
 
I have reviewed the Utah Health Spa Services Protection Act (U.C.A. §13-23-1 et. seq.) and 
Administrative Rules. I understand that if I do not comply with this law, that I am subject to 
administrative action outlined in §13-23-7. I also acknowledge that I am required to notify the Division 
within thirty (30) days of a material change in circumstances which may affect this registration status. I 
also acknowledge that if I operate without obtaining an effective registration statement, I am subject to 
remedies and penalties under Utah law. In addition to the enforcement powers under Utah law, the 
Director of the Division of Consumer Protection may issue a cease and desist order and impose an 
administrative fine of up to $100.00 per day that I operate without a current form of surety; additionally 
the Division may impose an administrative fine of up to $2,500 for each separate violation that is not a 
violation described in Subsection 13-23-5(2)(e) up to $10,000 for any series of violations arising out of 
the same operative facts. 
 
By signing this application, the undersigned certifies that the information provided herein is true 
and correct. 
 
 
Dated: ___________________  Applicant Signature: ___________________________________ 
 
       Applicant printed name: ________________________________   
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